“On Stage”‏

“The audience will make you feel like a demigod. But when you leave the stage, get back to being human”. David Coverdale

In theatre or performance arts, the stage (sometimes referred to as the deck in stagecraft) is a designated space for the performance of productions. The stage serves as a space for actors or performers and a focal point (the screen in cinema theaters) for the members of the audience. As an architectural feature, the stage may consist of a platform (often raised) or series of platforms. In some cases, these may be temporary or adjustable but in theaters and other buildings devoted to such productions, the stage is often a permanent feature.

“A live concert to me is exciting because of all the electricity that is generated in the crowd and on stage. It’s my favorite part of the business, live concerts”. Elvis Presley

“When I’m on stage, I’m trying to do one thing: bring people joy. Just like church does. People don’t go to church to find trouble, they go there to lose it”. James Brown

There are several types of stages that vary as to the usage and the relation of the audience to them. The most common form found in the West is the proscenium stage. In this type, the audience is located on one side of the stage with the remaining sides hidden and used by the performers and technicians. Thrust stages may be similar to proscenium stages but with a platform or performance area that extends into the audience space so that the audience is located on three sides. In theatre in the round, the audience is located on all four sides of the stage. The fourth type of stage incorporates created and found stages which may be constructed specifically for a performance or may involve a space that is adapted as a stage.

“Stage Love”

I have a genuine love affair with my audience. When I’m on stage they’re not privileged to see me. It’s a privilege for me to see them”. Ozzy Osbourne

“I’m mortified to be on the stage, but then again, it’s the only place where I’m happy”. Bob Dylan

“I love playing drums, and I love being on stage, and I love recording. It’s my life… it’s been my life, all my life, and I don’t think it could ever become boring for me”. Dave Lombardo

“If you Don’t Like Stages”

“Paul has more, I think, of a feel for the stage. Whereas I have it more for the notes themselves. I love record making and mixing, arranging, producing. That I love. I love to make beautiful things, but I don’t like to perform”. Art Garfunkel

“I don’t really like to play live. I don’t like to be on stage. I feel very self-conscious”. Peter Steele “I think generally playing live is a crap idea. So much of stage work is the presentation of personality, and I’ve never been interested in that”. Brian Eno

“You either evolve or you don’t. I don’t like old people on a rock n’ roll stage. I think they look pathetic, me included. And the fact that I represent an era means I can’t just go out there and do all new stuff. They would all say, ‘Sing ‘White Rabbit,” and I’d say no? That’s rude”. Grace Slick

“Stage Fright”

“I’ve never told anyone this. But I suffer from terrible stage fright. True. You can’t tell though, can you? Unbelievable, the panic. I nearly die of fear before I go on stage. Something wicked. I can’t eat a thing the day before a gig. It’d make me vomit”. John Lydon

“If you have stage fright, it never goes away. But then I wonder: is the key to that magical performance because of the fear?” Stevie Nicks

“Stage fright is my worst problem”. Andrea Bocelli

“Stages of Decay”

“One night Roger was in a foul mood and he threw his entire bloody drumset across the stage. The thing only just missed me – I might have been killed”. Freddie Mercury

“I got arrested once on stage in Memphis for looking too much like Liza Minnelli”. David Johansen

“Sometimes we pee on each other before we go on stage”. Trent Reznor

“I could beat my mike stand into the stage, but I was still in pain. Maybe fans liked it, but sometimes people forget you’re a person and they’re more into the entertainment value. It’s taken a long time to turn that around and give a strong show without it being a kamikaze show”.Axl Rose

“I’ve broken my nose, I’ve broken ribs. You name it. In fact, we just got back from South America, and I fell over a monitor speaker on the stage and almost ended up in the front row of the audience. I managed to sprain my wrist on that one but luckily nothing was broken”. Keith Emerson

“When I’m on stage the savage in me is released. It’s like going back to being a cave man. It takes me six hours to come down after a show”. Angus Young

“We all have roles in life. I’m a dad, a husband, this and that, but basically I only feel justified in being alive when I’m on the stage”. Jack Bruce

Responder

