“Communication Breakdown‏”

“Any problem, big or small, within a family, always seems to start with bad communication. Someone isn’t listening”. Emma Thompson

We never walk We never talk
We never find the time To be close again
There it goes again
Communication breakdown
Communication breakdown
Too much concern for money to burn
Too many things to do Now you don’t need me
And I don’t need you
Communication breakdown
Communication breakdown
One by one They fail Now the leaves our lover
Cling to the ground
Communication breakdown
Communication breakdown
Too much too soon Too much temptation
In a hurry It’s a sad situation
Too much worry I can tell Well it’s over now
Communication breakdown
Communication breakdown
There it goes
Communication breakdown
Communication breakdown
When it’s right, it’s all right
When it’s wrong, it’s all wrong
When it’s gone, it’s all gone
It’s too late
Communication breakdown
Communication breakdown
I can tell Well it’s over now
Communication breakdown
Communication breakdown
Songwriter(s): William Dees, Roy Orbison

“The more we elaborate our means of communication, the less we communicate”. J. B. Priestley

“Communication – the human connection – is the key to personal and career success”. Paul J. Meyer

Twain.Comm

“Words are only painted fire; a look is the fire itself”.  Mark Twain

Politi.Comm

“To say nothing, especially when speaking, is half the art of diplomacy”. Will Durant

“The basic tool for the manipulation of reality is the manipulation of words. If you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use the words”. Philip K. Dick

Silence.Comm

“To communicate through silence is a link between the thoughts of man”. Marcel Marceau

“Half the world is composed of people who have something to say and can’t, and the other half who have nothing to say and keep on saying it”. Robert Frost

Art.Comm

“Photography is more than a medium for factual communication of ideas. It is a creative art” Ansel Adams

“A different language is a different vision of life”. Federico Fellini

“Words and pictures can work together to communicate more powerfully than either alone”. William Albert Allard

LED ZEPPELIN – Communication Breakdown

This song became an anthem for frustrated youth. It was a popular live song that Led Zeppelin usually used to either open shows or play in an encore.

Hey, girl, stop what you’re doin’!
Hey, girl, you’ll drive me to ruin.
I don’t know what it is that I like about you, but I like it a lot.
Won’t let me hold you, Let me feel your lovin’ charms.
[Chorus]
Communication Breakdown, It’s always the same,
I’m having a nervous breakdown, Drive me insane!
Hey, girl, I got something I think you ought to know.
Hey, babe, I wanna tell you that I love you so.
I wanna hold you in my arms, yeah!
I’m never gonna let you go,’Cause I like your charms.
[Chorus]
[Chorus]
Communicate, I want you to love me all night
I want you to love me all night, I want, hey, I want, yeah
I want you to love me, I want you to love, babe
I want you to love, yeah, I want you to love
Hey, I want you to love, yeah, I want you to
Songwriter(s): John Paul Jones, John Bonham, James Patrick

The guitar riff was inspired by Eddie Cochran’s “Nervous Breakdown.” Jimmy Page used a small miked amplifier to create the “guitar in a shoebox” sound.

Explaining his technique to Guitar Player magazine in 1977, Page said: “I put it in a small room, a tiny vocal booth-type thing and miked it from a distance. You see, there’s a very old recording maxim which goes, ‘Distance makes depth.’ I’ve used that a hell of a lot on recording techniques with the band generally, not just me. You’re always used to them close-miking amps, just putting the microphone in front, but I’d have a mic right out the back, as well, and then balance the two, to get rid of all the phasing problems; because really, you shouldn’t have to use an EQ in the studio if the instruments sound right. It should all be done with the microphones. But see, everyone has gotten so carried away with EQ pots that they have forgotten the whole science of microphone placement. There aren’t too many guys who know it. I’m sure Les Paul knows a lot; obviously, he must have been well into that, as were all those who produced the early rock records where there were one or two mics in the studio.”

“Take advantage of every opportunity to practice your communication skills so that when important occasions arise, you will have the gift, the style, the sharpness, the clarity, and the emotions to affect other people”. Jim Rohn

Responder

