“Born to be FREE”‏

“I’d been down in London. The thing was in those days, everything happened in London. Nothing really happened outside; all the studios were there, all the record companies and everything. I went and lived down there, and I would see Paul Kossoff around town. And finally I got to meet him. I had a band called Brown Sugar and we were playing in this blues club, and he just came up and his hair was down to the back of his knees and he looked very cool. So we had that in common, right? He says, “I’d like to have a jam.” And he got up and we played a couple of B.B. King songs. And I said to him, “Man, you and I are going to form a band.” And he’s like, “But, I’m with a band.” And I said, “Never mind about that — we’re gonna form a new band. And it’s going to be professional.” And that’s how Free was born”. Paul Rodgers


“Listen BEATLES and FREE your mind”

“I used to listen to all the vocalists — you know people like Frank Sinatra, Elvis — when Elvis came out because my older sisters were way into Elvis, of course. And it was just something that I gravitated towards. The Beatles came out and that blew my mind actually. The Beatles were great; they really helped me through my teenage years”. Paul Rodgers

“Listen STONES and FREE your mind”

“Through the Stones, I discovered a lot of blues and people like B.B. King and Muddy Waters, and that got deeper and deeper. When the Stones sang (sings), I don’t want to be no slave/I don’t want to work all day/I don’t want you ‘cause I’m sad and blue/I just want to make love to you… When I heard that, I thought, oh that’s not (sings), She loves you/Yeah, yeah, yeah… No, it’s actually a little deeper, you know. So, that’s how I discovered Muddy Waters and those blues things. I also found out that if I imitated Otis Redding, of course…” Paul Rodgers

“Listen FREE and release your SOUL”

“There was the Temptations and the Four Tops. Then there was Aretha Franklin — all these great singers coming out. Sam and Dave. I just started to imitate those guys. I had a bass player who used to say, “I’ll bet you can’t do what he just did there…” And I’d try it and it was a great way of learning. Because it was a challenge to go (sings), yea-a-a-a-a-a-ah… or whatever they were doing. And I learned from the masters, actually, in that respect. Still put James Brown on and say, ‘My God, how does he do that? How did he ever do that?’ And Sam Moore. I actually recently recorded with Sam Moore and that was such a thrill. I was like a 13-year-old kid again. We both shared a mic; you know we had this song, we had the lyrics in front of us. I’m used to that, you know. Then Sam goes, “Who-o-o-o-oh!” or something. And I went, ‘Oh, my God — that’s Sam Moore!” And I was in shorts (laughs) and my school uniform, and I was 13 again.


Heartbreaker‏

Heartbreaker is the sixth and final studio album by English rock group Free, that provided them with one of their most successful singles, “Wishing Well”.

It was recorded in late 1972 after bassist Andy Fraser had left the band and while guitarist Paul Kossoff was ailing from an addiction to Mandrax (Quaaludes), and features a different line up from previous albums.

Tetsu Yamauchi was brought in to replace Fraser, while John “Rabbit” Bundrick became the band’s keyboard player to compensate for the increasingly unreliable Kossoff (singer Paul Rodgers played keyboards on the previous album Free at Last).

Both Yamauchi and Bundrick had played with Kossoff and drummer Simon Kirke on the album Kossoff, Kirke, Tetsu & Rabbit during that period in late 1971 when the band had broken up for the first time. Also, several other musicians were used on the album. The album was co-produced by Andy Johns as well as Free themselves.

Personnel
Paul Rodgers – lead vocals, guitar
Paul Kossoff – guitar
John “Rabbit” Bundrick – keyboards, backing vocals
Tetsu Yamauchi – bass guitar
Simon Kirke – drums, guitar on ‘Muddy Water’
with:
“Snuffy” Walden – guitar on “Common Mortal Man”, “Easy on My Soul” and “Seven Angels”
Rebop Kwaku Baah – congas on “Wishing Well”

NOTE: The album lists Kossoff as an additional musician.

Side one
1.”Wishing Well” (Rodgers, Kirke, Yamauchi, Kossoff, Bundrick) – 3.43
2.”Come Together in the Morning” (Rodgers) – 4.38
3.”Travellin’ in Style” (Rodgers, Kirke, Yamauchi, Kossoff, Bundrick) – 4.01
4.”Heartbreaker” (Rodgers) – 6.12

Side two
1.”Muddy Water” (Bundrick) – 4.15
2.”Common Mortal Man” (Bundrick) – 4.06
3.”Easy on My Soul” (Rodgers) – 3.44
4.”Seven Angels” (Rodgers) – 5.03

Southern rock band Blackfoot covered “Wishing Well” on Strikes (1979)

Gary Moore covered it on Corridors of Power (1982)

Maggie Bell covered it on Suicide Sal (1974)

Throw down your hat, kick off your shoes
I know you ain’t goin’ anywhere
Run ‘round the town singin’ your blues
I know you ain’t goin’ anywhere.

You’ve always been a good friend of mine,
But you’re always sayin’ “Farewell”
And the only time that you’re satisfied
Is with your feet in the wishing well.

Throw down your gun, you might shoot yourself…
Or is that what you’re tryin’ to do?
Put up a fight you believe to be right
And someday the sun will shine through.

You’ve always got something to hide
Something you just can’t tell
And the only time that you’re satisfied
Is with your feet in the wishing well.

And I know what you’re wishing for
Time in a peaceful world
Time in a peaceful world
Time in a peaceful world
Time in a peaceful world

You’ve always been a good friend of mine,
But you’re always sayin’ “Farewell”
And the only time that you’re satisfied
Is with your feet in the wishing well.

Songwriter(s): Simon Frederick St George Kirke, Paul Francis Kossoff, John Douglas Bundrick, Simon Kirke, Tetsu Yamauchi, Johnny Bundrick, Paul Bernard Rodgers


The album was, by Free’s standards, a huge success. It became their third top-ten album in the UK (reaching #9), and reached No. 47 in America, which was also a considerable success for the band. Also, the single release “Wishing Well” became their third-most successful single, reaching No. 7. It is widely regarded as one of their definitive songs.
Despite the success of the album and impending tour of America, it finally became apparent that the band had passed the point of no return. Kossoff being credited as an additional musician came as a shock to the entire band.
Kossoff spiralled to his lowest ebb and was unable to go to America; he was replaced, for the tour, by Wendell Richardson from Osibisa, against Rodgers’ instincts. Richardson proved (through no fault of his own) to be the wrong choice, and once the tour ended the band finally gave up.

Rodgers and Kirke formed Bad Company with Mick Ralphs (formerly of Mott the Hoople) and Boz Burrell (formerly of King Crimson); Yamauchi joined the Faces; Bundrick became a session musician and eventually became a regular keyboard player with the Who; Kossoff formed his own band Back Street Crawler, which Bundrick joined in the later stages of the band. After two unsuccessful albums, the guitarist died of a heart attack on board an aeroplane on 19 March 1976, at the age of 25.

Una respuesta to ““Born to be FREE”‏”

Responder

