“We Want More Electric Blackmore”‏

“Simplicity is the key”. Ritchie Blackmore

“The only way you can get good, unless you’re a genius, is to copy. That’s the best thing. Just steal”. Ritchie Blackmore

Richard Hugh “Ritchie” Blackmore (born 14 April 1945) is an English guitarist and songwriter, who began his professional career as a session musician as a member of the instrumental band The Outlaws and as a backing musician of pop singers such as Glenda Collins, Heinz, Screaming Lord Sutch and Neil Christian.

Blackmore was also one of the original members of Deep Purple, playing jam-style rock music which mixed simple guitar riffs and organ sounds.

“Ian Gillan, Roger Glover and I wanted to be a hard rock band – we wanted to play rock and roll only” Ritchie Blackmore

During his solo career, he established a neoclassical metal band called Rainbow which fused baroque music influences and elements of hard rock.

Rainbow gradually progressed to catchy pop style hard rock.

Later in life, he formed the traditional folk rock project Blackmore’s Night transitioning to vocalist-centred sounds.

Early Days

“Learning to play with a big amplifier is like trying to control an elephant”.”I’ve always played every amp I’ve ever had full up, because rock and roll is supposed to be played loud. Also, that’s how you get your sustain”. Ritchie Blackmore

“In my early days, I never used finger vibrato at all. I originally carved my reputation as one of the ‘fast’ guitar players”.Ritchie Blackmore

“I found the blues too limiting, and classical was too disciplined”. Ritchie Blackmore

During the 1960s, Blackmore played a Gibson ES-335:

Session recordings (1963–1968)

1963 The Outlaws – “The Return of the Outlaws” b/w “Texan Spiritual” (Single)
1963 The Outlaws – “That Set The Wild West Free” (Single)
1963 The Outlaws – “Law And Order” b/w “Doo Dah Day” (Single)

1963 Michael Cox – “Don’t You Break My Heart” b/w “Hark Is That A Cannon I Hear” (Single)
1963 Michael Cox – “Gee What A Party” b/w “Say That Again” (Single)
1963 Glenda Collins – “I Feel So Good” (the B-side of single)
1963 Glenda Collins – “If You Gotta Pick A Baby” b/w “In The First place” (Single)
1963 Heinz – “Dreams Do Come True” b/w “Been Invited to a Party” (Single)
1963 Heinz – “Just Like Eddie” b/w “Don’t You Knock at My Door” (Single)
1963 Heinz – Tribute To Eddie (“Tribute To Eddie”; “Hush – A- Bye – Baby”; “Summertime Blues”; “Come on And Dance”; “20 Flight Rock”; “I Remember”)
1963 Heinz – Heinz (EP: “I Get Up In The Morning”; “Talkin’ Like A Man”; “That Lucky Old Sun”; “Lonely River”)
1963 Heinz – “Country Boy” b/w “Long Tall Jack” (Single)
1963 Heinz – Live It Up (EP: “Live It Up”; “Don’t You Understand”; “When Your Loving Goes Wrong”)
1963 Houston Wells – “Only The Heartaches” (Single)
1963 Dave Adams – “Like A Bird Without Feathers” (the B-side of single)
1963 Dave Adams – “You Made Me Cry” (the B-side of single)
1963 Jenny Moss – “Hobbies” b/w “Big Boy” (Single)
1963 Geoff Goddard – “Sky Men” b/w “Walk With Me My Angel” (Single)
1963 Pamela Blue – “My Friend Bobby” b/w “Hey There Stranger” (Single)
1963 Gunilla Thorne – “Go on Then” (the B-side of single)
1963 Joe Meek Orchestra – “The Kennedy March” (Single)
1964 The Outlaws – “Keep A Knockin'” b/w “Shake With Me” (Single)
1964 The Outlaws – “The Bike Beat Part 1” b/w “The Bike Beat Part 2” (Single)
1964 Glenda Collins – “Baby It Hurts” b/w “Nice Wasn’t It” (Single)
1964 Glenda Collins – “Lollipop” b/w “Evrybody’s Got To Fall in Love” (Single)
1964 The Sharades – “Boy Trouble” (the B-side of single)
1964 Andy Cavell – “Tell The Truth” (Single)
1964 Davy Kaye – “A Fool Such As I” (Single)
1964 Houston Wells – “Galway Bay” b/w “Living Alone” (Single)
1964 Houston Wells & The Marksmen – Ramona (EP: “Ramona”; “Girl Down The Street”; “I Wonder Who’s Kissing Her Now”; “Nobody’s Child”)
1964 Heinz – “You Were There” b/w “No Matter What They Say” (Single)
1964 Heinz – “Please Little Girl” b/w “For Lovin’ Me This Way” (Single)
1964 Heinz – “Questions I Can’t Answer” b/w “The Beating Of My Heart” (Single)
1964 Valerie Masters – “Christmas Calling” b/w “He Didn’t Fool Me” (Single)
1965 The Outlaws – “Only For You” (the B-side of single)
1965 Michael Cox – Michael Cox in Sweden (EP: “I’ve Been Thinking”; “Is This Lonesome Old House”)
1965 Glenda Collins – “Johnny Loves Me” b/w “Paradise For Two” (Single)
1965 Glenda Collins – “Thou Shalt Not Steal” b/w “Been Invited To A Party” (Single)
1965 Heinz – “Digging My Potatoes” b/w “She Ain’t Coming Back” (Single)
1965 Heinz – “Don’t Think Twice It’s All Right” b/w “Big Fat Spider” (Single)
1965 Heinz – “End Of The World” b/w “You Make Me Feel So Good” (Single)
1965 Heinz – “Heart Full Of Sorrow” b/w “Don’t Worry Baby” (Single)
1965 Screaming Lord Sutch – “The Train Kept A Rollin'” b/w “Honey Hush” (Single)

1965 Richie Blackmore Orchestra – “Getaway” b/w “Little Brown Jag” (Single)
1965 The Tornados – “Early Bird” b/w “Stomping Through The Rye” (Single)
1965 Jess Conrad – “It Can Happen To You” (the B-side of single)
1965 The Lancasters – “Satan’s Holiday” b/w “Earthshaker” (Single)
1965 The Sessions – “Let Me In” b/w “Bouncing Bass” (Single)
1966 Heinz – “Movin’ In” b/w “I’m Not A Bad Guy” (Single)
1966 Ronnie Jones – “My Only Souvenir” b/w “Satisfy My Soul” (Single)
1966 Soul Brothers – “Goodbye Babe, Goodbye” (Single)
1968 Neil Christian & The Crusaders – “My Baby Left Me” b/w “Yakkety Yak” (Single)


1968 Boz – “I Shall Be Released” b/w “Down in the Flood” (Single)
1968 Sundragon – “Five White Horses” (Single)
1968 Sundragon – Green Tambourine (“I Want To Be A Rock’n’roll Star”, “Peacock Dress”, “Love Minus Zero”)
1968 Anan – “Medina” b/w “Standing Still” (Single)

“Session work makes you more strict. You can’t hit notes all over the place. You’ve got to make each one really count”. Ritchie Blackmore

from 1968 he mainly played a Fender Stratocaster until he formed Blackmore’s Night in 1997.

“Playing a Fender is an art itself. They’re always going out of tune”. Ritchie Blackmore

“I can do the old hand vibrato just fine, but I like attacking the strings”. Ritchie Blackmore

Throwing Flowes & Stones

“Hendrix inspired me, but I was still more into Wes Montgomery. I was also into the Allman Brothers around the time of those albums”. Ritchie Blackmore

“I’m not into that Keith Richard trip of having all those guitars in different tunings. I never liked the Rolling Stones much anyway”. Ritchie Blackmore

“Pete Townshend used to crash chords and let the guitar feed back. He’s overrated”. Ritchie Blackmore

“I have never met one person who likes Grand Funk”. Ritchie Blackmore

“I criticize my own work pretty harshly”. Ritchie Blackmore

“Everything I do is usually totally spontaneous”. Ritchie Blackmore

Guest appearances

1971 Green Bullfrog – Green Bullfrog aka Natural Magic

1972 Screaming Lord Sutch & Heavy Friends – Hands of Jack The Ripper (recorded live ’70)
1973 Randy, Pie & Family – Hurry to the City/Looking with Eyes of Love (SP, “Hurry to the City”)
1974 Adam Faith – I Survive (“I Survive”) Intro only
1980 Jack Green – Humanesque (“I Call, No Answer”)

1990 Rock Aid Armenia – The Earthquake Album (“Smoke on the Water ’90”) with Other guitarists
1992 Laurent Voulzy – Caché Derrière (“Guitare héraut”) Guitar solo only
1996 Twang! A Tribute To Hank Marvin & The Shadows (“Apache”)
1996 Sweet – All Right Now (“All Right Now By Now”, recorded live ’76)
1997 Pat Boone – In a Metal Mood: No More Mr. Nice Guy (“Smoke on the Water”) with Dweezil Zappa
1999 Geyers Schwarzer Haufen – Live ’99 (“Göttliche Devise”) Bonus truck
2004 Geyers Schwarzer Haufen – Historock Lästerzungen (“God’s Gospel”)
2011 William Shatner – Seeking Major Tom (“Space Oddity”)

“I think a lot about death more than life, because we’re going towards death”. Ritchie Blackmore

Responder

