“Just Push Play and Listen Aerosmith!”‏

“I don’t think anything is forever, but when my kids tell me they love me, that’s forever”. Steven Tyler

“Great melody over great riffs is, to me, the secret of it all”. Steven Tyler

In 1964, Steven Tyler formed his own band called The Strangeurs—later Chain Reaction— in New Hampshire.

Meanwhile, Perry and Hamilton formed the Jam Band (commonly known as “Joe Perry’s Jam Band”), which was based on free-form and blues. Hamilton and Perry moved to Boston, Massachusetts in September. There they met Joey Kramer, a drummer from Yonkers, New York. Kramer knew Tyler and had always hoped to play in a band with him. Kramer, a Berklee College of Music student, decided to quit school to join Jam Band.

In 1970, Chain Reaction and Jam Band played at the same gig. Tyler immediately loved Jam Band’s sound, and wanted to combine the two bands. In October 1970, the bands met up again and considered the proposition. Tyler, who had been a drummer and backup singer in Chain Reaction, adamantly refused to play drums in this new band, insisting he would only take part if he could be frontman and lead vocalist. The others agreed, and a new band was born. The band moved into a home together at 1325 Commonwealth Avenue in Boston, where they wrote and rehearsed music together and relaxed in between shows

“I quit my band in New York City in 1969 and I got really angry at them. I got angry at one of my guitar players and I dove over the drum set and we got into a fight”. Steven Tyler

“All the bands I’d ever been in were the kinds of bands where everyone would always be practicing but never get anything clear when it came to writing songs. Then I saw this band in New Hampshire that was the makings of Aerosmith. It was Joe Perry, Tom Hamilton, Pudge Scott. They played at this place called the Barn, where I used to play. They were horrible, but the way they did “Rattlesnake Shake” was something else. Joe was really into Alvin Lee. And I went, if I can get this groove with this guy and start writing songs…Then I met Joe on the front lawn of my parents’ resort, Trow-Rico Lodge (in Sunapee, New Hampshire). Joe pulls up in his little MG. I was mowing the lawn. I said, ‘Listen, maybe someday we’ll have a band together.’ I’ll never forget saying that to him. It’s in the trees. They heard it. It’s still there”. Steven Tyler

“If you take all that I’ve learned from Joe and all that Joe has learned from me, and you throw all that into a song, not only are you using the gifts that God gave you, but also all the experiences you’ve had”. Steven Tyler

Steven Tyler – lead vocals, keyboards
Joe Perry – guitar, backing vocals

Brad Whitford – guitar
Tom Hamilton – bass
Joey Kramer – drums

“As good as I am, I’m nothing without my band”. Steven Tyler

“Dream On” was written four or five years before the group even started. I wrote it on an upright piano in my parents’ living room at Trow-Rico Lodge, in New Hampshire. Never in a million years did I think I’d take it to guitar. When I transposed it to guitar Joe played the right fingers and Brad played the left hand on guitar. Sitting there working it out on guitar and piano I got a little melodramatic. The song was so good it brought a tear to my eye”. Steven Tyler

Discography:
Aerosmith (1973)
Get Your Wings (1974)
Toys in the Attic (1975)
Rocks (1976)
Draw the Line (1977)
Night in the Ruts (1979)
Rock in a Hard Place (1982)
Done with Mirrors (1985)
Permanent Vacation (1987)
Pump (1989)
Get a Grip (1993)

Nine Lives (1997)
Just Push Play (2001)
Honkin’ on Bobo (2004)
Music from Another Dimension! (2012)

“I write about the joys of life, sometimes the sorrows. Some albums are more full of sorrow than joy, therefore, those albums didn’t sell as well. People like to listen to music to identify with the songs. You don’t want to identify with really down songs. I recognize when I’m in a down head. I’ll write the song and stash it away in my memory bank. If it’s a good song I’ll put it on record anyway”. Steven Tyler

“Walk This Way” came out all at once. If you listen to the words, they’re all really filthy. If you listen closely you’ll hear that I disguised it quite cleverly. The song title evolved from watching The Three Stooges on TV. They walked this way and that”. Steven Tyler


“I’ve got scarves and boots from’ 1970 that I still wear”. Steven Tyler

“Out of some of the worst times the best songs have come. I had all my ideas to the ‘Rocks’ album in a manilla envelope. The whole album was finished and I left all the lyrics in a cab. I lost the whole thing, all the words to the songs. I had to go back to the Ramada Inn on 8th Avenue and sit with the headphones and bring it all back. I got about 50% of it. Can you imagine what was in that cab that went into the wastebasket?” . Steven Tyler

Long ago in days untold
Were ruled by Lords of greed
Maidens fared with gold
They dared to bare their wombs that bleed

“Just Push Play and Listen Aerosmith!”

“Maybe life is random, but I doubt it”. Steven Tyler

Una respuesta to ““Just Push Play and Listen Aerosmith!”‏”

  1. Source: Songfacts, Wikipedia

Responder

