“John Lennon…Life Begins at 40 with a Little Help from my Kids”

You don’t need anybody to tell you who you are or what you are. You are what you are!” John Lennon

 “Well I try so hard to stay alive
But the angel of destruction keeps on houding me all around
But I know in my heart that we never really parted, oh no” – Help Me To Help Myself
– -John Winston Lennon

 

“My husband John Lennon was a very special man. A man of humble origin, he brought light and hope to the whole world with his words and music”. Yoko Ono

Every woman has a man who loves her
Rise or fall of her life and in death
If she finds him in this life time
She will know when she looks into his eyes – Every Man Has A Woman Who Loves Him – Every Man Has A Woman Who Loves Him
-John Winston Lennon

“As usual, there is a great woman behind every idiot”. John Lennon

“John Lennon was very irreverent and very intelligent”. Brenda Lee

“Our society is run by insane people for insane objectives. I think we’re being run by maniacs for maniacal ends and I think I’m liable to be put away as insane for expressing that. That’s what’s insane about it”. John Lennon

“To be quite honest, John Lennon had questionable politics. There was a flip side. He was all peace and love, but he was a very violent character”. Noel Gallagher

“I’m not going to change the way I look or the way I feel to conform to anything. I’ve always been a freak. So I’ve been a freak all my life and I have to live with that, you know. I’m one of those people”. John Lennon

Hatred and jealousy, gonna be the death of me
I guess I knew it right from the start
Sing out about love and peace
Don’t wanna see the red raw meat
The green eyed goddamn straight from your heart
– Scared -John Winston Lennon

“Part of me suspects that I’m a loser, and the other part of me thinks I’m God Almighty”. John Lennon

“Surrealism had a great effect on me because then I realised that the imagery in my mind wasn’t insanity. Surrealism to me is reality”. John Lennon

“I truly miss the genius of the music of John Lennon, as I’m sure everybody does”. Peter Fonda

“Music is everybody’s possession. It’s only publishers who think that people own it”. John Lennon

“These critics with the illusions they’ve created about artists – it’s like idol worship. They only like people when they’re on their way up… I cannot be on the way up again” . John Lennon

“‘The Beatles’ did whatever they wanted. They were a collection of influences adapted to songs they wanted to write. George Harrison was instrumental in bringing in Indian music. Paul McCartney was a huge Little Richard fan. John Lennon was into minimalist aggressive rock”. Chris Cornell

To me, John Lennon and Elvis Presley were punks, because they made music that evoked those emotions in people”. Joey Ramone

“Time you enjoy wasting, was not wasted”. John Lennon

– “We’d like to welcome you here to the Dakota country and western club
And in return for miss Yoko Ono’s wonderful gift of a very strange
I’d like, this morning, to sing you a little ditty that occurred to me in the throes of my sleep

It’s called “Life Begins At 40”
They say life begins at forty
Age is just a state of mind
If all that’s true
You know, that I’ve been dead for thirty-nine

And if life begins at forty
Well, I hope it ain’t the same
It’s been tough enough without that stuff
I don’t wanna to be born again

Well, I tried to sweep the slate clean
With a new broom ev’ry day
If that don’t work
I’ll jerk around until my next birthday

Yeah, life begins at forty
Age is just a state of mind
Well, if all that’s true
You know that I’ve been dead for thirty-nine  – 
John Winston Lennon

“My role in society, or any artist’s or poet’s role, is to try and express what we all feel. Not to tell people how to feel. Not as a preacher, not as a leader, but as a reflection of us all”. John Lennon

Caetano Veloso Version of  “Cambalache”

Que el mundo fue y será
Una porquería, ya lo sé
En el quinientos seis
Y en el dos mil, también
Que siempre ha habido chorros
Maquiavelos y estafaos
Contentos y amargaos
Varones y dublés
Pero que el siglo veinte
Es un despliegue
De maldá insolente
Ya no hay quien lo niegue
Vivimos revolcaos en un merengue
Y en el mismo lodo
Todos manoseaos

Hoy resulta que es lo mismo
Ser derecho que traidor
Ignorante, sabio, chorro
Generoso o estafador
¡Todo es igual!
¡Nada es mejor!
Lo mismo un burro
Que un gran profesor
No hay aplazaos ni escalafón
Los ignorantes nos han igualao
Si uno vive en la impostura
Y otro roba en su ambición
Da lo mismo que sea cura
Colchonero, Rey de Bastos
Caradura o polizón

¡Qué falta de respeto
Qué atropello a la razón!
Cualquiera es un señor
Cualquiera es un ladrón
Mezclao con toscanini
ringo star y napoleon
don bosco y La Mignon,
john lennon y San Martin
Igual que en la vidriera
Irrespetuosa
De los cambalaches
Se ha mezclao la vida
Y herida por un sable sin remache
Ves llorar La Biblia
Lunto a un calefón

Siglo veinte, cambalache
Problemático y febril
El que no llora no mama
Y el que no afana es un gil
¡Dale, nomás!
¡Dale, que va!
¡Que allá en el Horno
Nos vamo’a encontrar!
No pienses más, sentate a un lao
Que a nadie importa si naciste honrao
Es lo mismo el que labura
Noche y día como un buey
Que el que vive de los otros
Que el que mata, que el que cura
O está fuera de la ley!

Tango – 1934
Music: Enrique Santos Discepolo
Lyric: Enrique Santos Discepolo

Una respuesta to ““John Lennon…Life Begins at 40 with a Little Help from my Kids””

Responder

