DioGuardi Songwriters Heaven

Bryan Adams – Mick Taylor – Kara DioGuardi – Alex Chilton

Bryan Adams

“I bring out an engineer, everything fits into a suitcase and we just record. I have so much spare time during that day that it makes sense to utilize it to do something creative like that, as opposed to just sitting around the hotel and sightseeing or something”.  Bryan Adams tells Billboard.com that he recorded the new songs for “Room Service” in hotel rooms and other locales while on the road.

Bryan Guy Adams, OC OBC (born 5 November 1959) is a Canadian singer-songwriter, musician, producer, actor and photographer. As one of the world’s best-selling music artists and the best-selling Canadian rock artist of all time, Adams has been one of the most successful figures of the world of popular music during last three decades and as a singer, he’s known for his strong husky vocals and energetic live performances

Adams rose to fame in North America with his album Cuts Like a Knife and turned into a global star with his 1984 album Reckless. In 1991, he released his popular Waking Up the Neighbours album which included “(Everything I Do) I Do It for You”, one of the best-selling singles of all time.

Oh thinkin’ about all our younger years

There was only you and me

We were young and wild and free

Now nothing can take you away from me

We’ve been down that road before

But that’s over now

You keep me comin’ back for more

 

And baby you’re all that I want

When you’re lyin’ here in my arms

I’m findin’ it hard to believe

We’re in heaven

And love is all that I need

And I found it there in your heart

It isn’t too hard to see

We’re in heaven

 

Oh once in your life you find someone

Who will turn your world around

Bring you up when you’re feelin’ down

Now nothin’ can change what you mean to me

Oh there’s lots that I could say

But just hold me now

‘Cause our love will light the way

 

And Baby you’re all that I want

When you’re lyin’ here in my arms

I’m findin’ it hard to believe

We’re in heaven

And love is all that I need

And I found it there in your heart

It isn’t too hard to see

We’re in heaven

 

I’ve been waitin’ for so long

For somethin’ to arrive

For love to come along

Now our dreams are comin’ true

Through the good times and the bad

I’ll be standin’ there by you, oh!

 

And baby you’re all that I want

When you’re lyin’ here in my arms

I’m findin’ it hard to believe

We’re in heaven

And love is all that I need

And I found it there in your heart

It isn’t too hard to see

We’re in heaven, heaven

Whoa, oh, oh!

 

You’re all that I want

You’re all that I need

Songwriter(s): Bryan Adams, James Douglas Vallance

Adams also co-wrote songs for other bands during this time including Billboard charted songs like “No Way to Treat a Lady” for Bonnie Tyler:

 “Don’t Let Him Know” for Prism

“Teacher Teacher” for 38 Special

Edge Of A Dream” for Joe Cocker, Bonnie Tyler, Kiss, and many more

Mick Taylor

  Michael “Mick” Kevin Taylor born 17 January 1949 in Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire) is an English musician best known as a former guitarist and contributing member of The Rolling Stones. Taylor grew up in Hatfield, Hertfordshire. He began playing guitar at age nine. As a teenager, he formed bands with schoolmates and started performing concerts under names such as The Juniors and the Strangers. They also appeared on television and put out a single. Part of the band was recruited for a new group called The Gods, which included Ken Hensley (later of Uriah Heep fame). In 1966, The Gods opened for Cream at the Starlite Ballroom in Wembley. In 1965, when Taylor was 16, he went to see a John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers performance at “The Hop” Community Centre, Welwyn Garden City. Former drummer with the Juniors, Danny Bacon remembers, “On the night in question, I had gone to The Hop with some guys from our band, former schoolmates and Ex-Juniors Mick Taylor and Alan Shacklock. It was after John Mayall had finished his first set without a guitarist that it became clear that for some reason Eric Clapton was not going to show up. A group of local musicians, which included myself, Robert “Jab” Als, Herbie Sparks, and others, along with three local guitarists–Alan Shacklock, Mick Casey (formerly of the Trekkas) and Mick Taylor–were in attendance”. Mick Taylor approached John Mayall during the intermission and ended up filling in as the guitarist for the second set, playing Clapton’s guitar, which had already been set up on the stage. Despite his young age, Taylor began to earn respect for his guitar skills], and when Peter Green resigned from the Bluesbreakers, Taylor was asked to take his place. Taylor made his debut with the Bluesbreakers at the Manor House, an old blues club in North London. For those in the music scene the night was an event… “Let’s go and see this 17-year-old kid try and replace Eric”. Before he turned 18, Taylor toured and recorded the album Crusade with John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers. From 1966 to 1969, Taylor developed a guitar style that is blues-based with latin and jazz influences. Later on in his career, he further developed his skills as a slide guitarist.

“He is regarded by many Stones aficionados as the best guitarist ever to play with the band, and appeared on some of their classic albums including Let It Bleed, Sticky Fingers and Exile on Main St.”

Jimi Hendrix and Mick Taylor, New York, NY 1969

“I do remember actually learning chords to Beatles songs. I thought they were great songwriters”. Mick Taylor

I been living in big hotels

Hopin’ and prayin’ for something else

Only halfway through Louisiana

On my way home to Alabama

 

It gets lonely, you’ve no idea

And baby, sometimes I’m close to tears

Only halfway through Louisiana

On my way home to Alabama

 

I’ve been living in big hotels

Hopin’ and prayin’ for something else

Only halfway through Louisiana

On my way, way home to Alabama



“We used to fight and argue all the time. And one of the things I got angry about was that Mick had promised to give me some credit for some of the songs – and he didn’t. I believed I’d contributed enough. Let’s put it this way – without my contribution those songs would not have existed. There’s not many but enough, things like “Sway” and “Moonlight Mile” on Sticky Fingers and a couple of others”. —Mick Taylor, in a 1997 interview with Mojo magazine

“Before the Beatles, songwriters were very anonymous people and nobody paid any attention to them”. Bjorn Ulvaeus

“Randy Newman and I grew up together in Los Angeles. We are both products of the film studio era. Randy is one of the great songwriters of our time and one of the fun people to be with”. Leonard Slatkin

Kara DioGuardi

 

“You need to understand that a skilled professional songwriter can accelerate your success as an already talented musician. These people are writing every single day, so their craft is really sharp, and it’s the best songwriters who consistently get on the radio.” Kara DioGuardi

Kara Elizabeth DioGuardi (Born December 9, 1970) is an American singer-songwriter, record producer, music publisher, A&R executive, composer and TV personality.

“If I Can’t Have You” on Meat Loaf’s album “Hang Cool Teddy Bear” (2010)

DioGuardi has a songwriting catalog of several hundred songs, of which over 307 have been released on major labels worldwide, and over 150 have appeared on platinum selling albums. She has had nearly 50 international charting singles over the course of her career, and her songs have helped propel more than 66 albums into the Top Ten of the Billboard 200. Her songs have been featured in major motion pictures, television shows, film soundtracks, and radio spots, as well as national and international commercial campaigns.

DioGuardi co-owns Arthouse Entertainment, a publishing company that is a resource business for record companies and other music entities seeking compositions, productions, artists, and related music services. Arthouse has been a part of many chart-topping hits including B.O.B’s “Nothin’ On You,” Bruno Mars’ “Just The Way You Are” and “Grenade,” Cee-Lo Green’s “Forget You,” Flo Rida’s “Club Can’t Handle Me,” Cassie’s “Me & U” (written and produced by Ryan Leslie), Jim Jones’ “We Fly High” (produced by Zukhan Bey), Mika’s “Grace Kelly”, OneRepublic’s “Apologize” and “Stop and Stare” (all produced by Greg Wells), Faith Hill’s “Lost” (written and produced by Kara DioGuardi and Mitch Allan), “Sober” by P!nk, “Pieces of Me” by Ashlee Simpson, and “He Could Be The One” by Hannah Montana.

songwriting and production DioGuardi discography

“I think songwriters are more related to fiction writers. The Odyssey was a story in song. To me, that’s so beautiful, all those painted characters, all those travels and adventures”. Regina Spektor

“All we do as songwriters is rewrite the songs that have impressed us till we find our own voice. It’s part of learning the craft”. Steve Earle

Alex Chilton

“I never thought of myself as being a good songwriter. There are a ton of other people that are good songwriters, but I don’t think I’m in the club. What I do well is perform, sometimes sing pretty good, and accompany myself well and arrange fairly well”. Alex Chilton

William Alexander “Alex” Chilton (December 28, 1950 – March 17, 2010) was an American songwriter, guitarist, singer and producer, best known as the lead singer of the Box Tops and Big Star

in 1971 and co-founded the power-pop group Big Star, with Chris Bell, recording at engineer John Fry’s Ardent Studios. Chilton and Bell co-wrote “In The Street” for Big Star’s first album #1 Record, a track later covered by Cheap Trick and used as the theme song of That ’70s Show.

The group’s recordings met little commercial success but established Chilton’s reputation as a rock singer and songwriter; later alternative music bands like R.E.M. and The Posies would praise the group as a major influence.

During this period he also occasionally recorded with Rosebrough as a group they called The Dolby Fuckers; some of their studio experimentation was included on Big Star’s album Radio City, including the recording of “Mod Lang.” Rosebrough would occasionally work with Chilton on later recordings, including Big Star’s Third album and Chilton’s 1975 solo record Bach’s Bottom.

That ’70s Show

Una respuesta to “DioGuardi Songwriters Heaven”

  1. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague who had been conducting a little homework on this.
    And he actually ordered me lunch simply because I stumbled
    upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending some time to discuss this issue here on your website.

Responder

