The Wildhearts: Who wants a Cafeine Bomb?

 “It is not about how a man falls, it is about how a man gets over it” Ginger

Baby can’t you see, I’m shitting out water
It’s a case of easy come and easy go-o
I need a caffeine bomb to wake me in the morning
I need a caffeine bomb to get me to the show
Oh no, I think I wanna throw

“If in your life you are going to have a period acting crazy, you better do it when you are young! Because then you can possibly get over it. I had all my crazy acts at the time when I should have been crazy. In my 20s and my early 30s. Now I am in my 40s and I cannot be crazy no more. I have got babies, I have go responsibilities! But you know, I have no regrets, I have had a fantastic time and one day I will write a book and the “crazy times” will be the “good chapters” in the book, where people go like “oh my god, oh my god”! Ginger

high rolling
mmm…
‘cos everyone’s looking for someone to blame
censorship rules, still the problem remains
(you) watch with your eyes closed and still you complain
‘til no-one has an independent thought in their brain
and it’s always the same

The Wildhearts are a British rock group originally formed in Newcastle upon Tyne, England. The band’s sound is a mixture of hard rock and melodic pop music.  In the band’s turbulent and unpredictable history, band members have regularly been replaced, with the only constant member being the band’s founder Ginger (real name David Walls) – the singer, guitarist, and predominant songwriter.

Prior to the Wildhearts, Ginger was in the backing band for UK punk singer Beki Bondage, UK band The Quireboys, and US band The Throbs.

First airing of the promo video for the debut Quireboys single, ‘Mayfair’ (Survival Records, released June 1988) shown on the Chart Show 10th June 1988. Shot in the Marquee club, Wardour Street, London, on 21st May 1988 – the day of their last gig at that venue before the Marquee moved to Charing Cross Road. Featuring Spike, Guy, Ginger, Cozy, Nigel & Chris and unknown model.

The Wildhearts formed in late 1989, after Ginger was sacked from the Quireboys

“I was pissed off at that time, but because I thought the entire whole world was against me. Then I just realized that I was being unprofessional while they were trying to go to the next level. And they did go to the next level! The band became very successful; it could have not made that step with me at that time. And The Wildhearts screwed it so bad many times because of me in the past. I would have sacked myself from The Quireboys!”Ginger

Initially called the Wild Hearts (two words), the band originally included singers Snake (ex-Tobruk) and Dunken F. Mullett (ex-Mournblade), who both joined for short periods. Nine demos were recorded in 1989 and 1990 with Snake singing on four and Dunken on five.

These demos remain unreleased and displayed a sound resembling Guns N’ Roses, with the Wildhearts sound still to be developed. Some of the demos were produced by Ric Browde and intended for an EP release that never materialized, though these demos are occasionally found on unofficial releases. In March 1991, Ginger reluctantly took over on lead vocals

After many early personnel changes, the line-up solidified around Ginger on guitar and vocals, CJ (Christopher Jagdhar) on guitar and vocals, Danny McCormack on bass and vocals, and Dogs D’Amour drummer Bam. This line-up released two EPs in 1992, Mondo Akimbo a-Go-Go and Don’t Be Happy…Just Worry.

The Wildhearts Discography:
1993 Earth vs the Wildhearts

1995 P.H.U.Q.
1996 Fishing for Luckies

1997 Endless Nameless
2003 The Wildhearts Must Be Destroyed

2007 The Wildhearts
2008 Stop Us If You’ve Heard This One Before, Vol 1.
2009 ¡Chutzpah!

“Relationships problems are always the same, either if you are broke or if you have money. Problems with your confidence… etc. It is all about finding something good, remembering something that you love, little tricks like that. This morning I woke up and I was in a terrible mood, and my girlfriend told me “remember the things that you love”. Tell somebody that you love them!, and that will make you feel better.” Ginger

Here, sitting in my room,
With the Replacements and Husker Du
Like a rebel without a clue
And the Beatles and the Stones
Get to hang out with Ramones
And the Pistols shot in fame
As they sing the old refrain
Like they always will again
Like “29 times the pain”

Ginger Studio albums:

Valor Del Corazon (2005)
Yoni (2007)

 

Market Harbour (2008)
100% / 555% (2012)

In August 2011, Ginger launched the The Triple Album Project via “Pledgemusic”, a website that enables fans to fund the recording and production of an album or other music project up front. Ginger’s pitch was to record a 30-song triple album comprising hitherto unfinished and unrecorded material dating back to 2007, with the recording of the album paid for in advance by those who pledged to hear the final product. The campaign met with immediate success, hitting 100% of the funding total within six hours of launching.

Ginger Additional appearances:


Devin Townsend – “Christeen” (Co-Writer)

 

Neil Leyton – Dead Fashion Brigade EP (guitar, arrangements, production)
Backyard Babies – “Brand New Hate” (Co-Writer) from the album Making Enemies Is Good
Brides of Destruction – “White Trash,” “Never Say Never,” “Tunnel Of Love”, “Dimes in Heaven” (Co-Writer)
Halcyon Times (2010) – Jason & The Scorchers (Co-Writer – credited as David Walls)
Sensory Overdrive (2011) – Michael Monroe (Co-Writer & Guitarist)

11 comentarios to “The Wildhearts: Who wants a Cafeine Bomb?”

  1. Hi i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i read this post i thought i could also create comment due to this good post.

  2. I needed to thank you for this very good read!

    ! I definitely loved every bit of it. I have you bookmarked to
    check out new stuff you post…

  3. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this brilliant blog!

    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk
    about this blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  4. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider
    worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to
    hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Responder

