Please…”Don’t Give Up”

Don’t Give Up – Peter Gabriel
Duet written by Gabriel, sung with Kate Bush

I was taught to fight, taught to win
I never thought I could fail
no fight left or so it seems
I am a man whose dreams have all deserted
I’ve changed my face, I’ve changed my name
but no one wants you when you lose.

Don’t give up
‘cos you have friends
Don’t give up
You’re not beaten yet.
Don’t give up
I know you can make it good…

Don’t give up
‘cause somewhere there’s a place
where we belong.

Rest your head
you worry too much
it’s going to be alright
When times get rough
you can fall back on us
don’t give up

For every job, so many men
so many men no-one needs.

Don’t give up
you know it’s never been easy.
Don’t give up
‘cause I believe there’s a place,
there’s a place where we belong.

Don’t Give Up by Peter Gabriel
Album: So , Released: 1986
Charted:US 72 UK 9

Peter had some kind of nervous breakdown in 1985. This song is to reward the support he got from his family.


Two videos were made. One of the promos showed Bush and Gabriel in a loving embrace for the duration of the song. This version was directed by Kevin Godley and Lol Creme

This was used in the Miami Vice episode “Redemption In Blood” Bush was not Gabriel’s first choice as duet partner. Speaking to The Quietus, the one-time Genesis vocalist admitted that he’d originally approached Dolly Parton to contribute vocals for the track, but the country legend turned his offer down. “There’s an interesting story about this song,” he said. “Because there was a reference of America roots music in it when I first wrote it, it was suggested that Dolly Parton sing on it.” He added that he was “glad” that Bush had ended up taking singing duties for the track.

Even though this song is about unenployment, I think the song has helped many through tough times with depresión Sure did help me back in 1997 – – Ole, Copenhagen, Denmark

A very dear friend gave this song to me over 10 years ago after a serious bout of depression..suicide attempt..It pulled me through; as has done so for the last 10 years. Every time I feel I am at the bottom looking up, with despair and no hope , I play this song and I remember…….. I am loved. I can’t give up.- Bailey, Orlando, FL

Tthe Paula Cole version on the secret world (dvd and cd) is really good. their voices are fantastic together.- Tara, boston, MA

don’t give up

Una respuesta to “Please…”Don’t Give Up””

  1. There’s certainly a great deal to know about this subject. I really like all of the points you have made.

Responder

