Clifford Lee “Cliff” Burton

“If I die tomorrow, I‘ll be alright because I believe,  That after we’re gone, The spirit carries on” (Petrucci)

Cliff Burton (February 10, 1962 – September 27, 1986)

“My influences would be… well, first off, with bass playing it would be Geddy Lee, Geezer Butler, Stanley Clarke….” Cliff

Trauma went down to LA and did some stuff. While in L.A., Lars and James saw us and decided that they would like to have me in their band. And so they started getting ahold of me and calling me, and I came to their shows here when they played Frisco. And eventually Trauma started to… annoy me… a couple of different ways, so I said, “Later.”  Complete Interview to Cliff by RIP Magazine

Burton joined the band in 1982 and performed on its debut studio album, Kill ‘Em All. He performed on two more Metallica albums, Ride the Lightning and Master of Puppets, both of which met with major commercial and critical success. Burton was known for his “lead bass” approach, in which the bass played a melodic and soloist role, in addition to holding down the harmonic and rhythmic foundation of the band.

Interview by Harald O to Jan and Ray (Cliff parents)

Q: Did anything ever change after Metallica got popular?

JAN: No, nothing, not a thing.

RAY: He never acted like a bigshot, one bit. In fact, he really disliked anybody with that attitude.

JAN: He never considered himself a star. He said, “I’m just a good musician, but I’m not a star.” He was a star, but he wouldn’t recognize himself as that.

Q: You must be very proud of all his achievements.

JAN: Oh, God!! There are no prouder parents in the world! Nowhere is anybody prouder of their son. His achievements definitely…. But the kind of person he was along with it never changed, which I think we’re even more proud of. He always used to say, “Thank you, Mom ‘n’ Dad, for everything. Thank you for the support throughout the years.” He never got bigheaded. Complete Interview to Cliff parents

Responder

